Clap If You Believe

People keep asking me, “what are you here[in LA] for?” I then answer them and they have a plethora of responses that usually sound something like this, “What happened to you that you want to do that?” or “Wow, you must be a really good person!” 

The answer to both of those responses is usually, “No, no, no.” Nothing happened to me to make me want to be a social worker. No one said, “Woah, your life is really f’ed up, you could really relate to those f’ed up kids!” 

I have actually lived an amazing life. No true obstacles. The response to the people who question me is usually, “No, I just want everyone to have the options like the ones I had in my life.” 

Today in church the sermon was on 1 Timothy 6:11-16 and what happens when the odds are against you.

“11 But you, man of God, flee from all this, and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance and gentleness. 12 Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses.” 1 Timothy 6:11-12

ImageThe preacher said, “what you do matters and so does why you do it” and my head got lost thinking about what I do and why I do it. 

So, after some thought, I know what I should say when people raise the question, of why I am becoming a social worker, 

“Someone believed in me.”

Not just one someone, lots of someones believed in me and I want to be that someone for other people.

I wouldn’t be where I am if someone didn’t believe I could do lots of the things I’ve done over the years: overcome learning disablitlies(kinda-sorry about the grammar issues, dyslexia is a bitch),  win(2nd place) in the 7th grade talent show(there is a home video to prove it), be in charge of 110 tenth graders at age 23, and even go to grad school across the country. 

I wouldn’t be here if someone didn’t believe in all of those things that I have done, so why not be the someone that believes in the kids who have the brains and the hearts to do more than I will ever do, but no one to tell them they can do it. My mom always quotes tinkerbell in saying, “Clap if you believe.” Mama Cuddle, among others, have clapped a lot, even if they weren’t sure if I was going to make it.  I intend on clapping for the kids no one claps for the rest of time! 

To ALL of you who have been that person for me, thank you, know that you are the thing that “happened to me” and are a huge part of the reason that I am going(to try) to change lives. 

Leave a Reply

