Love is actually all around.

Love is actually all around.

“…General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often, it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends…If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaky feeling you’ll find that love actually is all around.” -Love Actually

Screen Shot 2014-01-03 at 5.36.48 PM

One of my good friends called me before christmas break began and asked if I had been watching Love Actually on repeat since December began. I laughed a little at this question because 1) I had been, every night and 2) I didn’t realize this was a thing that I did every year. As one of my best friends she saw this ritual in me when I didn’t.

It’s true: I love that movie. I love Hugh Grant. I love the surprise choir seranad at that wedding. I love that the prime minister(hugh grant/total babe) thinks Natalie, “that Chubby girl,” is beautiful.

 

Truth is, as my good friend who recognized by odd obsession with this movie also pointed out, I love all of this because I love, love.

Because we all are swamped with articles and upworthiest is constantly blowing up our news feeds, you may have seen this article about a girls understanding of love after being diagnosed with cancer:
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/elana-miller-md/love-is-holy-shit-i-have-_b_4512572.html

As the tears flowed down my face as I read this article, seeing reminders of little battles my family has faced in the past 6 months, I thought about how correct she is about what love is.

I have been home for about a month and have only been to 3 chemo day sessions so my tasting of what this cancer world is like is very small compared to my mom, dad, sister and millions that go in for treatments daily.  I will say that when you walk through the hospital though sickness is the first thing on your mind the amount of LOVE is overwhelming.

In the article she states, “Love is when such a tragic event has shown me how many people out there care about me deeply and hold me in their hearts, showing their concern through visits, phone calls, texts, emails, messages through family, and heartfelt gifts. Ignorantly, I hadn’t before realized this was true.”

This is 100% true and another reminder that I love, love.  I love that all of you have loved the Cuddle crew SO well. I know that my family wouldn’t be where is today with out the insurmountable love that has come from every single person that has heard of this bump in the road the Cuddle Crew is facing.

As for an update, the crazy boobs are under control or so we think. Mama Cuddle is more than half way through her treatments and is a true champ. Though it is sure to get harder before it gets better and like anything some days are harder than others, knowing that all of you are thinking, praying, visiting and saying “the wig looks great” (which is really does) makes this is easier.

Most importantly and something that is a constant reminder that Elana(yea we are tots on a 1st name basis) says is, “Love is when I know this cancer will hurt, and will make me sick, but it will not kill me.” And it for sure won’t be the thing that kills mama cuddle. My decision to become a “Cali girl” might have been closer to doing that.

Screen Shot 2014-01-03 at 5.53.38 PMHonestly, as I head back to Cali in a couple of days and leave a lot of big hugs and familiar faces, I am not feeling empty.  I will hop on that plane with such a full heart because I know that you are all with me in spirit. Thank you for all the support-for all the craziness the last 6 months has brought on.

With this new year in front of us let us be thankful for health and for each other, ready for the adventures and challenges ahead and soak in all the “not particularly dignified or newsworthy” love-because let’s be honest, that’s the really good stuff.

 

Leave a Reply

