wholehearted love

whole hearted love

So as most of you know, this past Sunday I joined the club of people who have tattoos. This club is very large here in California, it includes movie stars, drug dealers, lawyers, teachers, gangsters, social workers and the list goes on. People are tatted up here and it is not a big deal.  But, I have been notified by you “tattoo haters” that when if I move back to Texas I will have a hard time getting a job.

IMG_7350Here are my opinins on that:

1) Drug dealers, lawyers, teachers, gangsters, social workers, etc. have tattoos in Texas too…hello have any of you fools every been to Austin?

2)I didn’t get A$$ n T!TT!Es tattooed on my neck…my tattoo is not offensive.

3) If you know me, you most likely can’t picture me in a suit or in a corportate place that wouldn’t hire someone with a tattoo. As my mom said, “I couldn’t even get you into that St. Marks dress uniform in middle school.” **This may also be because at 14 I recognized how dumb clip on bowties were..**

I will say this about my tattoo, I LOVE IT. Good thing, right? Since it’s permanent. It reads wholehearted love ,with the love crossing at the O. It is on my right wrist, in line with my pinky finger, so if you were to shake my hand you wouldn’t be able to see it.

The reason that this is important to me is that I really believe on not only living a wholehearted Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 1.49.41 PMlife, but also to love wholeheartedly. Ephesians 6:7 reminds us to serve wholeheartedly and in my opinion serving is loving.

Also, Brene Brown(mom this is your fault for introducing me to her) is my idol. She is a Social Worker just like I will be in 3 semesters. She is a researcher/storyteller, who not only has one of the most popular Ted talks of all time, but  is a fellow Houstonian and most importantly, has done research on how important it is to live and love wholeheartedly.

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 2.14.40 PMDid you know that Tim Tebow’s infamous John 3:16 showing made the verse the most trending search on google during most of his game? Christian or not, Tim Tebow hater or not, tattoo covered or not, you can understand that when you make a statement people want more information about it. This reminder tattoo lights a flame under me daily and is a small thing that can help show my passion to others, while encouraging them to try to live the same way I am trying to. If one person can understand a wholehearted life or desire one because of a conversation struck because of a tattoo on my wrist than I am in.

e4481236141d42896219de79bb397d2c-1

P.S. Thank you for those of you who have supported me in this choice wholeheartedly(see what I did there). love ya, mean it.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

