Happy Valentines DAy Bitches!

Throughout the years I have always loved holidays. I think that it must be genetic, because my grandmother loved them and my mother loves them. You get to decorate, make other people happy with gifts and cards and best of all there is always a special food to eat. Think: thanksgiving=mashed potatoes, Christmas=tamales and Valentines Day=heart shaped donuts.

Speaking of heart shaped donuts, Happy Valentine’s Day!!

I have heard a lot of moaning and groaning today which makes me so sad. I understand that being single on Valentine’s Day is like being Jewish on Christmas, you feel left out, eat Chinese food and go see movies with other people like you single losers

But here is the thing for all my fellow single ladies who hate Valentine’s Day, you hate it because you think it’s not great for you because you are “alone.”

But let’s take a second to remember back to when you weren’t alone. Was it really that good? Take a walk down kiddcuddle memory lane….maybe you can relate:

Age 9: Being asked by my best boy friend to be his valentine, after his older brother urged him to do it. I specifically remember saying YES and then he said, “I changed my mind.” Rude. I rode my bike home crying peddling as fast as I could.

Age 13: A boy with the last name Razor gave me $10 in a red envelope and a necklace with a shark tooth on it. Which I wore…all the time… That fashion piece and his last name alone can illustrate the success of that valentine.

Age 16: A pencil drawn/written card with FM Static lyrics all over it. At the time I swooned, but just like that band we were not meant to last.

Age 20: A “Wanna go get tacos” from the boy I liked, preceded by the waitress complementing me on my valentines day outfit and the boy saying, “oh shit, it’s valentines day??”

ImageAge 24: I was headed on a flight to Paris for work and the boy I was dating sends me a text that has a picture of roses and wine with a “if you were here you would get this, enjoy paris.(kissy face emojicons” Only to later find out that some other girl was getting that real thing from the same boy that night.

 

My point is *other than I clearly go for God’s finest* is that because we have such high expectations for this single day, valentines day falls into the same category of new years eve, a long run for a short slide one could say. No, I am not saying we shouldn’t have high expectations for our men, just that we should lower our expectations for Feb. 14th.

With that said, I, a single lady, love the idea of Valentine’s day because even if you are feeling single as F*CK, I am sure that someone told you they love you today! It may have been your mom, dad, middle school student or the well-known bum on the street. Whoever it was I bet they meant it. I know I meant it today when I told people I cared about them and I probably wouldn’t have don’t it if it wasn’t Feb. 14.

So, quite your bitchin’ single ladies, grab a glass of wine and some pizza, pop in that Ryan Gosling movie and enjoy the fact that someone out there loves you! Image #soitmustbefine 

Leave a Reply

