Save the Crazy

When I moved to LA 7 months ago today, I had no idea what was in store. I knew that I was leaving a huge, full life behind, but I also knew there was greatness ahead!

Time has moved so quickly and so slowly all at once. I can’t believe I am almost half way done with grad school, that I have found a new group of people I can call friends, that I can navigate myself around the 2nd largest city in America and that it’s already time to consider my future.

At times this crazy life I’m leading seems to be flying forward and I selfishly forget about all the things going on at home. I think this is partially because my FOMO is out of hand when it comes to my friends at home and also I worry about my parents health when I think too hard about home.

I wrote a paper about my family dynamics this week and was reminded that something as large as cancer, an overhanging theme in my family these days, makes my kidcuddle life, whining about school or complaining about how Angelenos can’t navigate the rain, seem so minimal.

Yesterday was one of those days that time just moved SLOWLY. I was bogged down about school, worried about summer internships/my future and honestly,  missing home more than I ever imagined I would (stupid social media and your rodeo pictures).

I called my house to talk and try to not cry. My mom answered and she gave me the “get back on the horse,” “buck up” speech. Thank god she has this attitude about hardship, considering what she is going through right now, but I needed to just talk and cry and have someone knock some sense into me, so she handed my dad the phone.

After reminding me that C students rule the world(a view I have had since failing algebra 2 in HS-woops) and reassuring me that this calling couldn’t be graded, just lived out, my dad made the best point he could have. He said, “thank god this melt down didn’t happen last semester, you would have wanted to move home.” My dad was right, and his words saved me from my crazy (a gift of his I am so thankful for).

Save the Crazy

I think about this semester as of yet and how things have changed in the last 7 months. South Central is still the same ghetto hood it is, but I have friends with great places to escape to now.  Having those friends in its self is something to write home about. Putting roots in other people isn’t always a great idea, especially in a city full of people who constantly ask, “how long are you planning on being here for?” But, if you are a people person like me, this support from friends creates a serious life line.

For example, this past weekend 12 wonderful friends, old and new, participated in the Race for the Cure in honor of Mama Cuddle. Our team called “Saved the Crazy Boobs” raised over $1,000 for Susan G. Komen. We all weathered the rain, some people finished the 10k with no problems, others struggled up the hills but we all finished- I think it was because we knew there were mimosa’s at the finish line:

Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 9.59.39 AM

SO, cheers to the crazy that ultimately reminds us how good we have it, how special friends are and the Crazy Boobs that are doing well with only 2 more rounds of chemo to go!

Thank you to all of you who ran your little hearts out and who donated to an amazing cause!

Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 9.59.18 AM Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 9.59.10 AM Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 9.59.01 AM

P.S. Don’t worry, I am still meeting my full share of strangers and there will be many a story to come about that!! 

P.S.S. not sure why I have such asian eyes in these pics…I guess I just adapting to my environment.

Leave a Reply

