The Skimm: Get Smart, Stay Sassy

The Skinny on The Skimm

“For two girls who grew up more Morning Glory than The Social Network, it took a lot of guts, and white wine, for us to make theSkimm a reality. We see ourselves as a part of a generation where women are out-earning men in paychecks and degrees. We’ve grabbed our seats at the table, now it’s time to Skimm to the head.” YOU GO GIRLS!!

Last week my dear friend Bowinkle shared with me something that would change by political point of view for the rest of time: The Skimm.
The Skimm is an online newsletter written by 2 girls in their twenties. These two ladies who are seemingly just like you and me simplify the headlines for the professional(or grad student) who knows enough to know she needs more.

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 9.14.32 AM

When I told my sassy, brilliant sister about The Skimm, I explained it was basically a really smart girl explaining the headlines to a less informed girl. In my head, I’m imagining Vivienne Kensington explaining the current happenings in Ukraine to Elle Woods  and friends, but without her typical condescending nature.

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 9.18.48 AM

 

 

 

 

 

Today I learned on The Skimm that The Ukraine and Russia need a social worker, American’s are dumb and think HTML is an STD and that Santa(the republicans) will not be giving Obama his christmas list(the 2015 budget) this year. Look at me, so educated and it only took 2 mins, it’s like headlines-the cliff notes version.  To all my girl friends out there who take the time to read style me pretty, buzz feed and scour pinterest for hours, YOU NEED THE SKIMM>get smart, stay sassy!

SO, thanks to 2 solid twenties something ladies from the east coast(who I want to be besties with) because all the mean Vivienne Kensington types/overly educated stuck up ivy league girls can never make me feel like I don’t know what is going on again.

IMG_7173My parents always said, “know enough to be a good dinner party guest.” Thank you to the Skimm, these two sassy, BRILLIANT babes can sit at the same dinner table and know what to say when someone asks you if you are going to SXSW… **You can subscribe at that link**

 

 

Leave a comment