Happy 1 year Anniversary

happy 1 year blogosphere! I, kid cuddle, have officially done cali for a full year today! you have seen me through it all and I couldn’t have done it with out you.

this has by far been the craziest, most full, amazing, scary year as of yet. You have read about me moving 1,619 miles away from home to live in one of the most unsafe neighboorhodds in the 2nd largest city in the country with 3 strangers. You saw them become friends as we gallivanted through the hills, bar scenes, beaches and undoubtable beauty this city provides. You have sent me love in the mail, visited me, sent flowers and text messages to my family in a year in which health was not our strength, but saw and helped us come out on top(cancer free!!). You heard about LA men who baffled me with their douch baggyness(not a real word, but it should be) and Texas men who won my heart over even from a far. You supported me though a 1/2 marathon, multiple travel adventures, a tattoo, learning how to eat alone in public and my 1st year as a grad student. IMG_0897

So here is the thing, after a friend sent me this article and I identified with literally everything it said I think after a year, which in LA is equivalent to basically like 7 years of being away, I will give you my advice:

  • Move out of your comfort zone. I know for some of you this may not mean across the country; but you could move to a new city in the same state, a new neighborhood in the city you are comfortable in or even just could find roommates you didn’t grow up with. This will change you and challenge you for the better.
  • If moving(living somewhere else) isn’t an option, just move. Enjoy the city you are in. Get out in it and amongst em.  Bask in different types of people and attractions that are wherever you are. The best part of living here is everything is new and there is always something exciting and different on the horizon. You can do this too, even if you have lived in the same city forever.
  • If you are a 20 something, remember that we only have 10 years to be in our twenties. I can’t say I would repeat, EVER, some of the shit that went down in my life this year, I would say that I am thankful for the experiences God put in front of me. Some life changing advice my Dad sent me in an email when I wasn’t accepted into TFA(they dumb) and I was worried about what was next was this: “Be passionate about what you do. Gather it all in and make it yours. No one can take experience away from you, have as many experiences as you can.” He was right and I couldn’t be more thankful for those wise words.

That’s all I’ve got, a year in a nutshell and some advice for those of you looking for a change. BELIEVE ME, if I can do it, you can do it.

HUGE thank you friends(old and new) and family for listening to crying phone calls, giving big hugs when they were needed, encouraging me to be the best person I can be and bringing me back to earth when the insanity aliens snatched me up in their UFO. I am forever thankful for you and I hope you are as ready for year 2 as I am. Screen Shot 2014-08-02 at 9.01.34 PM

Bring it Cali!!

P.s. I am celebrating with a little piece of home tonight at the BEYONCE concert.

Leave a Reply

