Deep in the Heart of Texas

If you read this blog than you most likely follow me on other social media and know that I had an AWESOME weekend.

One of my closest friends from college married her college sweetheart and another bestie had a beautiful baby boy and I was able to be back in Texas to see both of these magical things happen!

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 5.36.05 PM

This was a beautiful reminder that the roller coaster of life should be ridden with people we love and that DFW will always have a piece of my heart. The nostalgia for what once was and the potential for what could possibly be in that town is surreal, overwhelming, and wonderful all at once.

It was…

A confirmation that 10 months and 2000 miles between best friends is nothing. A depleting bank account results in dance moves, late nights and laughs between friends that are better than finding a million heads up lucky pennies. A chuckle at the idea of collecting boys like souvenirs at weddings while staying as classy as possible.  A hope that “George Bush is here because I have the biggest crush on him.” A prompt to remember all that is great at home, while thankful for the adventure life throws at me daily in California. A potential DUI because a late night crunch wrap supreme feels worth it. A realization that an imaginery jump rope on a dance floor is way more fun than actual double dutch. A tranquility that can only be found in the sounds of summer cicadas. and a Texas sky so vast to blanket it all.

All I know is it was a perfect weekend full of love to remind me that know matter where I am, that my heart lies deep in the heart of texas.Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 8.00.55 AM Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 8.00.03 AM

One Comment Add yours

  1. Vollmer, Helen says:

    Beautifully written. Makes me proud to be a Texan and prouder to be your mom!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

