Border Wars

I’m about to get all social worker/political on you so YOU ARE WELCOME, in advance for my thoughts. I am not trying to change your opinion or push mine upon you, I am just bloggin’. Like the Skimm said today,”There are more sides to this issue than there are points of entry into the States.” So just for shits and giggles, here is my side.

If you are reading this then you most likely know me, which means you most likely live in California or Texas. Guess what, according to the 2013 census, the 2nd largest population of people in BOTH of those states are? LATINOS. Did you know there are 11 million undocumented immigrants in the US?

Last night, Obama used executive action to pass a bill that made a deal with immigrants to “come out of the shadows.” This doesn’t mean amnesty or citizenship or a permanent stay. Honestly, in January when the Republicans take control of the Senate, I am sure this deal will be changed.

For those of you who don’t know, here is the deal:

“So we’re going to offer the following deal: If you’ve with been in America more than five years. If you have children who are American citizens or illegal residents. If you register, pass a criminal background check and you’re willing to pay your fair share of taxes, you’ll be able to apply to stay in this country temporarily without fear of deportation. You can come out of the shadows and get right with the law. That’s what this deal is.”

Here is the thing, I understand and am a little ashamed that the social economic background that I come from views these people as though they are taking solely here to “take american jobs” and be “criminals.”
But, let me share with you that I know some of these people and FOR THE MOST PART, that is not their intention.

The people this bill will help are sweet students who remember their horrendous adventure to get to this country, who are fighting for an education that is not available where they are from, who want to go to college and be engineers, doctors and lawyers, that will help our economy.

They are mom’s who want their children to not be sold into sex slavery, like they were in their country. Who want their daughters to be beautiful, young, respectful(and respected), smart women, who get to choose the man they want to be with each night instead of being traded for drugs.

They are men who cut the lawns and the women who raise your children in neighborhoods they could never afford to live in, but are thankful for every single penny they get, even if the “american dream” isn’t what they hoped it would be.

showposterI know they shouldn’t be here, I have watched Border Wars too. I do know they are here though, so let’s up security but help the people who are here. I get it and so does Obama when he said,

“All of us take offense to anyone who reaps the rewards of living in America without taking on the responsibilities of living in America. And undocumented immigrants who desperately want to embrace those responsibilities see little option but to remain in the shadows, or risk their families being torn apart.”

I have see kids I love have a parent be deported, be immediately displaced and have to become an adult over night because when they got home from school that day they realized their single mom was deported. And if you saw that, maybe you would have a change of heart too.

You may not know them well, and I can’t say I have struggled through ANYTHING close to what they have, but I know and love some of the people that my fellow citizens are willing to talk about like trash that needs to be sent to the dump.

SO, just like I would for any of you that I love, I will fight for them.

Don’t be afraid of this change. Shit, embrace it, go enjoy a badass taco that someone beautiful, ambitious, curvaceous, immigrant mama made and be thankful they are here.

“We need more than politics as usual when it comes to immigration. We need reasoned, thoughtful, compassionate debate that focuses on our hopes, not our fears.”

Leave a Reply

