Wicked Witch of the West = Mother Nature

When I first moved here one of my favorite professors said something that, at the time, I thought was very wise. “For all of you that just moved here, when a conversation gets awkward here in LA we don’t talk about the weather. There is no weather. We talk about the traffic, because there is always traffic.” This carried me through my first year of awkward friend dates, encounters, and even some terrible therapy sessions (I swear i’m good at my job).

But guess what professor: You’re Wrong.

Since I have been back from Thanksgiving break the weather is all anyone could talk about!

USC sorority girls usually love this because chilly Cali weather usually means that this: Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 10.13.59 AM

is appropriate attire (which it’s not, ever).

But it has actually be down right cold and RAINY.

What does this mean for LA you may ask? That the Wicked Witch of the West is actually Mother Nature and the whole city of LA does this: images

Seriously, no one here knows how to handle this rain. In the past 3 days I have

  • Seen a mud slide on the PCH. Which mostly looked like Gloppy from Candy Land was just wanting to take a swim in the Pacific, but was also kind of terrifying. Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 10.32.05 AM
  • Seen the meeting of two canyons completely drown a honda, while creating waves that look as though people were about to begin surfing.Screen Shot 2014-12-03 at 10.51.31 AM
  • more dogs in rain coats than humansoriginal_188031_SzggXrrut_02ZySrJPLoo4BAI
  • Had multiple little kids ask me things like, “Why does this what keep falling from the sky?” or “Can we play in the rain, we never get to see it?” **does no one teach about precipitation in this state**
  • And seen an influx of celebrations/odes to the rain on social media.

Here are some of my favorites:

IMG_3695 IMG_3701IMG_3703

All and all, though it has been hilarious to watch a town react to what the rest of the world would just call drizzling like it is the end of the world. I am about done and want my sunny California back, drought and all.

my own social media input:

FullSizeRender-1come again another day, maybe after I move…

Leave a Reply

