Fight On

Do you ever sign up for things and then kinda forget about them until the week before and then say, “Oh shit, I’m running a 10k next week!?” Well, if you don’t, then you must have an operations manager in your life. Because I definitely forget and the job offer is still open for the ops manager.

This weekend I ran the 37th Annual Santa Monica-Venice Christmas Run and what a delight it was!

First, this was the view when we rolled up at 6:45am…not bad…
IMG_3740

Then there was so much joy every where!! Talk about getting into the christmas spirit! I ran behind a guy dressed as “Elfis” for a while who was dressed in a buddy the elf costume with an elvis wig and big elton john style glasses on. Like I said about the half marathon I did last year, there is something very moving about the pitter patter of thousands of feet on streets that are always so bustling with traffic and that many people out enjoying themselves in the perfect decemeber weather we have in southern california. I think I had a smile on my face the whole time I was running. I mean, mile 6 in a 10k is always something to be happy about, but check out this view!

IMG_3750

I stood here for a little while and cheered so that I could finish with my roomie,who I am soooo proud of for doing her second 10k! As I cheered people on, I realized how truly special is is to see someone’s face as they realize they are so close to accomplishing something they had been working towards!

I guarantee you 2 years ago at this time if you had told me I would have been so happy about running a 10k, I would have actually laughed in your face.

Also, 2 years ago I had no idea what God had in store for me: that I would be moving to California, watch a family member fight off a horrible disease, meet kids who truly saw no hope in their future and watch them graduate from a rehab program 6 months sober, live in south central, meet people who would be come life long friends, total my car, be a part of so many friends marriages and see births of their first babies, actually be in a masters program and even running a half marathon and a 10k.

As I finish this one last peskey final today (hopefully) and move into what will be my last semester of school EVER, I can’t help but to look back on the last year and a half and be thankful for the blessings and challenges that have been put in my path. Hard work really does get you places… (think finishing a 10k=awesome brunch *check out Superba Snack Bar LA friends*).
IMG_3756
IMG_3767 IMG_3768

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith.” -2 Timothy 4:7

#fighton

Leave a Reply

