Christmakah

IMG_3885Holiday parties in the city of California seem like Christmas in July to an extent, because it’s not exactly snowing outside, but over the last week it has been not only chilly, but very merry. It all started with 2 good friends having a birthday/tacky sweater party. I decided to rock the Cindy Lou Who concept. Hair included. Thank you to Camp Ozark for the many years of Nalgene inspired up dos.

The night included, awkward family photos,

Think: (Top) Step father and mother. Disgruntled father who is still living with the family. (Bottom) Older sister who is dare I say it a little slutty. And mischievous little sister, plotting to unwrap all the presents before Christmas morning. Credit to the story goes solely to @hornedfrogbrit.

Think: (Top) Step father and mother. Disgruntled father who is still living with the family. (Bottom) Older sister who is dare I say it a little slutty. And mischievous little sister, plotting to unwrap all the presents before Christmas morning. Credit to the story goes solely to @hornedfrogbrit.

SO many chocolate liquor and peppermint shnops shots, so many photo booth pictures, my grandmothers vest, a long discussion with my cab driver about his sex life(creepy, yet not uncomfortable) and a trip to a newer friends home that is decorated exactly like a Hardrock Café in the best way possible-including NASA memorabilia and an awesome When Harry Met Sally poster.

The next day was spent watching almost the whole season of Blackish the new ABC comedy, which is actually hilarious and recovering on the sofa until it was time to dress up as the angel that I am and hit the SantaMonIcon Pubcrawl. Which as a whole our group wasn’t mentally prepared for after the night we had before (#notincollegeanymore). After meeting a disgruntled, day-drunk Santa, running into some of my favorite Manhattan Beach elves, and waiting in a line that was more like trying to exit a IMG_3831major stadium (think disorganized mosh pit style movement) I decided to bow out for the night.

On Monday night, I went to the Grove to remind myself of what Christmas lights looked like because seriously there are none in LA. Which I do believe is a product of the wealth in this city primarily consisting of Jews. I used to not even think about this, but now I hate because they are really filching all my Christmas cheer with their lack of it.

Then on Tuesday some of my very favorite Los Angeles ladies came over to my house for Christmas inspired appetizers and a solid gift exchange. I really am deeply thankful to have found such brilliant, hilarious friends here.IMG_4014

I closed out the Cali holiday fun with some Christmakah caroling in the halls of the elementary school I work at with my favorite 3rd graders. Did you know Oh Hanukah was a song, because I did not. I’m learning so much in Beverly Hills.IMG_4019

As much as I loved my holiday celebrations in Cali, I am more than ready for my Christmas light tree tunnels, family time on the Albans sofa and SO MANY Christmas tamales. Here I come Tejas, ready or not!

Leave a Reply

