“that white girl in that dance movie”

Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 12.19.22 PM Have you ever been told you look like a famous person?? Most people have that “oh yea, I get that a lot..” person that everyone says they look like. for me it’s Julia Stiles. Interestingly enough it is usually black people who think I am her and they almost always say, “you look like that white girl in that dance movie!” AKA Save the Last Dance. This may also be why all my friends say I would be the most likely to end up with a black man…not sure.

Anywho, I don’t know what I was throwing out there this weekend but it must have been some serious Julia vibes.

IMG_4693On Friday night, my uber driver Arrash, told me, between jamming out and slamming on the breaks at least 20x, that I looked just like Julia Stiles and quick to tell my friend riding with us, “well, you’re unique.” I don’t think Arrash quite knows how to woo the ladies.

On Saturday, I was walking out of Whole Foods and this very plumb girl who was clearly tourist who stumbled off from The Grove, ran over to me and said “Oh my gosh, can I take a picture with you.” In my confusion, I questioned her desire to picture my last nights hair & makeup and beach cover up combo. She said, “You’re Julia Stiles, right?” I laughed and said, absolutely not. We took a picture anyway because, “if I think it’s you, so will my friends!” So now some family somewhere is reviewing pictures of a “celeb-siting” filled trip to LA, thinking that Julia has really let herself go since “that dance movie.”

Then that night out with friends one of the guys we were with said, “has anyone ever told you, you look just like Julia Stiles?” I legit squealed in his face, thrilled to tell him the story I just regaled to you.

All in all, I guess I accept that I look like Julia, but I would like to stick to what a wonderful liar man told me recently, “You look like Kate Upton.”

Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 12.16.11 PM

pretty sure this had nothing to do with my face, just an idea though. For now, I am going to just keep doing what I’m doing and maybe someday people will tell other people, “you look just like that awesome non-profit president, children’s book author, KiddCuddle.” A girl can dream, right?!

One thought on ““that white girl in that dance movie”

  1. LOVE this. And for what it’s worth, you are SO much better looking than JS (and have better dance moves I might add) b

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

