comparison is the thief of joy

FullSizeRender-4
One of my fav fountains to sit by on campus. FYI:That archway down there was where Rory Gilmore Graduated from “Yale” on the Gilmore Girls set.

This morning I was early to a meeting with a professor and decided to take a walk about the USC campus because 70 and sunny seemed like something to take advantage of after talking to my snowed in friends in Texas (and partly because I had dunkin donuts at 10pm last night…whoops and needed to get some extra steps in).

This is the USC school of social work, where I spend my time.
This is the USC school of social work, where I spend my time.

During my walk about I found myself smiling at the beauty this campus has to offer. The silence of one of the number one party schools in the country at 8am is an incredible thing. Soon enough there will be tons of Cali bros on their skateboards, Asian students shuffling to class while looking at their calculators, sorority girls sitting by the fountains soaking in the sun and burning off their hangovers and grad students like me, oblivious to it all, scrambling to get it all done in the next 70 days before graduation. But, for those 30 mins this morning it felt like it was just me and the serenity of the sound of the water falling into the 30+ fountains on campus.

Last night at my bible study my prayer request was to continue to follow God’s path for me in the coming weeks as I spend time with friends, family and try and make big life choices after graudation(i.e. where to live, what is my career path) and not try and create my own or be influenced by the other things that are happening in other people lives around me.

One of my favorite verses is:

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.” -Proverbs 3:5-6

This morning was an answered prayer, because it was a reminder that I came here for a reason. I have learned so much here not only about social work, other people in this world, but also about myself. This quiet time on campus reminded that comparison truly is the thief of joy.

I find so much joy in what I am doing here, so I should be continuously thankful for this opportunity that God has given me, not comparing myself to my sister’s seemingly picture perfect life or my friends who seem to have hit the love life jack pot. But instead celebrate the almost Master of Social Work, kiddo loving, beach bumming, drunken doughnut eating, hot mess that I am…because if I’m going to be a mess, I better be a hot one, right?

“…be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is-his good, pleasing and perfect will.” -Romans 12:2

Basically, what I am trying to say is, put down your phone/laptop/ipad. I challenge each of you today to spend time with yourself and your faith. Celebrating all that is going on in your life, because the big man up stairs has better plans for us than we can imagine. We better live it up down here before we get to party with him and his angels up there.

On that note….IMG_5392

Leave a Reply

