JB & JC

I wanted to share with you about my most recent Jesus/Justin Bieber experience. Yes, that’s a combo I never thought I would talk about together either, but it’s real.

Last week I went to see a sermon at MOSAIC (a very trendy, men in felt hats and skinny jeans-women in fringe type of church). The preacher was not your typical priest, he is a 4th generation Protestant Pentecostal priest.

Yea, you are thinking this: Unknown-1

but no, it was Rich Wilkerson Jr. so think this,

798a9112e32711e2912922000a1fceb7_6Oh, I didn’t mention that church was different because he speaks just like Justin Bieber, officiated Kanye and Kim’s wedding and  was wearing ripped skinny jeans and a hoodie vest.Kimye-wedding-alter

JB's insta at church. #selfie #fedora #Duh
JB’s insta at church. #selfie #fedora #Duh

At first, I couldn’t get over the fact that Justin Bieber was in the front row of the church and the singers were basically rapping the hymns and there was a fog machine…yes, a fog machine. Then Rich began to preach, his message was called “Broken, Mended, Second Winded.” I liked this message concept and he did say some great things(I would type my notes out for you, but they are all packed up).

Let me break this down for you:

Broken: We are all broken (sinners) and need to know Christ.

“The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” -Psalm 34:18

“for all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of god.” Romans 3:23

**when he was talking about this, I felt like he was talking straight to the Beibs about his recent antics**

Mended: Jesus saves.

“If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved.” -Romans 10:9-10

Second Winded: If you have been a believer and you have hit rock bottom, you can come back to Christ and he will give you just as much love as he did before. **think second wind, like when you’re running.

Anywho, great message-purposeful and needed. For me though, there was so much hoopla around what he was talking about and it took 2 hours that I had a hard time following him.

Here is the thing though, his “church is for the nameless and the famous.” I like that. I like that he is making a connection to people, particularly in this city, in a way that a traditional priest couldn’t and through that connection he is sharing the good word. More people are hearing about Jesus because he is making it cool to know him.

Do I think that it is good that people want to go to church because Justin Bieber is there? No. Do I think it is KEWL that most likely, at least one person who came into that church to know JB left knowing JC? Yes.

So, as T-Swift would say, haters gunna hate, hate, hate, hate. And I’m sure, Rich’s new reality show about the church he is building (known as Vous) will be terrible…but all and all, he is doing his job of spreading the good news, whether I like the way he is doing it or not.

“He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.” Mark 16:15

**Pictures from: google image, Instagram & People Magazine. 

Leave a Reply

